Canada: The True North

Canada is the second largest country in the world by total area, next to Russia. It occupies most of the northern portion of North America (41% of the continent). The country spans an immense territory between the Pacific Ocean to the west and the Atlantic Ocean to the east and the Arctic Ocean to the north (hence the country’s motto “From sea to sea”), with the United States to the south (contiguous United States) and northwest (Alaska), and the Arctic Ocean to the north; Greenland is to the northeast.

Canada is a federation of ten (10) provinces and three (3) territories, namely:

Provinces and their capitals:
    1. Newfoundland and Labrador - St. John’s
    2. Nova Scotia - Halifax
    3. New Brunswick - Frederickton
    4. Prince Edward Island - Charlottetown
    5. Quebec - Quebec City
    6. Ontario - Toronto
    7. Manitoba - Winnipeg
    8. Saskatchewan - Regina
    9. Alberta - Edmonton
  10. British Columbia - Victoria

Territories and their capitals:
1. Nunavut - Iqualuit
2. Northwest Territories - Yellowknife
3. Yukon - Whitehorse

Ottawa is Canada’s capital while its largest city is Toronto. Other important cities include Montreal, Vancouver, Edmonton, Calgary, Winnipeg, Hamilton, and Quebec.

Canada’s moniker “The True North” comes from the line “The True North strong and free” which is based on English poet, Alfred Tennyson’s description of Canada as “That True North”. In the context of Tennyson’s poem, “true” means “loyal” or “faithful”.